Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)


Dubai Health Authority (DHA) is the Government Body that regulates the healthcare system in the Emirate of Dubai. DHA ensures policies and strategies for private and public healthcare facilities are in place, providing quality healthcare system by licensing and regulation across the Dubai Healthcare Sector.

DXH Group was founded in the year 2014 by Dubai Health Authority (DHA) as a consortium of healthcare facilities within the Emirate of Dubai that are evaluated by DHA and aims to promote comprehensive and competitive healthcare services for in-bound health tourists through the DXH Website thereby strengthening the public-private partnership in Dubai.

You can contact Health Tourism Department in DHA through the website contact us form or email at:

Dubai Health Experience is the brand conceived by the Dubai Health Authority (DHA), to promote the healthcare facilities licensed by DHA and their services and strengthen the position of Dubai on the world map of Health tourism.

More than 100 healthcare facilities are enrolled under the ‘DXH Group’ program with their related services listed in

The DXH Website provides information about the Health and Tourism Strategy within the Emirate of Dubai. The website gives insight on the participating healthcare facilities (listed as DXH Group Members) that promote their unique services, specialty doctors and healthcare packages via DXH website to prospective health tourists. Furthermore, the website provides additional information to ease the journey of a health tourist such as the different types of Visas including the medical tourism visa, Travel and Healthcare Facilitators, Hotel Partners.

Membership to DXH Group is free, until any further notice from DHA or DXH Group Administration. Application to DXH Group and Membership assigned shall be decided according to the decision of Dubai Health Authority and Dubai Health Tourism Department based on the evaluation of the submitted information. is the official government website for “Dubai Health Experience” and belongs to Dubai Health Authority. It lists information and data related to medical and wellness services offered by health tourism partners in Dubai. The website is available in Two languages (Arabic and English) and provides detailed information about the participating healthcare facilities and other supporting partners that are vetted as per the standards set by the Health Tourism Department.

Can I become a DXH member if I am a healthcare facility in the UAE but not licensed by DHA?

There are 30 hospitals in Dubai, of which 70% are internationally accredited. The emirate aims to build 22 hospitals by 2020 - 18 private and 4 public hospitals

The Health Tourism Strategy, defined under “Dubai Health Experience” (DXH), focusses on specialties such as cosmetic treatments and surgery, orthopaedics and sports medicine, ophthalmology, dental treatment, dermatology, gynecology, wellness and preventive health check-up packages, assisted reproductive techniques, weight-loss management and related surgeries.

Dubai offers a healthcare system that simulates the best international practice supported by local regulations, legislations and laws that guarantee the highest quality standards. In addition, it proposes a strategic location, security, political and economic stability, environment and attractive investment climate for businessmen in general. It also provides flexible and sophisticated laws and legislations for the practice of health professions in addition to the existence of the infrastructure supporting health tourism. The development of the health sector and the availability of diagnostic and health services -distinguished in various medical specialties- is important as well as the access to government hospitals and a large number of private hospitals that have international certifications in quality.

The social media platforms are as follows:

  • Facebook: DXH-Connect
  • Twitter: DXHConnect
  • LinkedIn: DXHConnect
  • YouTube: DXHConnect
  • Instagram: DXHConnect

Types of Visas

  1. Tourist Visa
  • Short Tourist Visa Single Entry
  • Multi Entry
  • Long Tourist Visa Single Entry
  • Multi Entry

For more information:- Please visit

  1. Medical Visa

Medical Visa can be applied by Licensed Healthcare Facilities only on behalf of a patient and is valid for 90 days. It is further extendable to another 90 days for the patient (and patient escort where applicable) based on review of relevant documents submitted.

The type of Visa obtained to enter the United Arab Emirates depends on various factor such as:

The nationality, reason of visiting and the planned duration of the visit. Thus, tourists can apply through (Emirates Airlines, Fly Dubai, DANATA, Marhaba, Travel Agencies, and Hotels)

For more information, please visit:

If your organization provides wellness services through DHA-licensed healthcare professionals, you can apply to become a member. If your organization provides other wellness services like spas and retreats that do not require a DHA-licensed healthcare professional, you can apply for listing your organization in the wellness section of our website.

Dubai has set an ambitious long term strategy to develop the health sector which aims to strengthen the competitive position of the Emirate. Furthermore, Dubai occupies a prestigious global position, as an ultimate destination for tourism and recreation, offering its visitors an exceptional experience throughout the year.Dubai looks forward to being the ideal destination for medical and wellness treatments to attract health tourists . In addition, it focuses on the medical tourism industry by identifying investment opportunities in the health sector, developing marketing plans, promoting health tourism, monitoring and coordinating with healthcare providers within the UAE and developing communication skills in different languages. These efforts are supported by extensive research and analysis to identify opportunities for investment and create opportunities for cooperation with the private sector.

The GCC and other Arab countries are at the top of the list, followed by Asian and African countries.

GCC nationals do not need a visa to enter the UAE.
Arab residents of the GCC countries who hold a business class residence visa, company
 directors or representatives, auditors, accountants, physicians, engineers and private sector
 workers, can obtain a 30-day visa non-renewable upon arrival in the UAE.
Which countries are eligible for entering the United Arab Emirates?
Passport holders of countries listed below enjoy no advance visa arrangements when visiting
the UAE. Upon arrival to Dubai International Airport, they can proceed to Immigration, where
their passport will be stamped with a 30-day visit visa free of charge which can be extended
for an additional 30 days at an additional charge. All visitors must have a valid return ticket
as well as a passport valid for at least six months.
Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech
Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary,
Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta,
Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino,
Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland,
United Kingdom, United States of America, Vatican City.
All other nationalities must arrange for visa prior to their arrival in the UAE.